Breakup Letter…

Dear Italian food

Although we’ve known each other for many years now, it’s been two months since you and I officially became acquainted. In these past two months I’ve learnt that you are far more than just pasta, pizza and gelato. Your bounds know no ends. From fritta mela, pizzele, supli di riso, prosciutto cotto, gnocchi di zucca and even just piadinas’ you have lit up my world in ways I could have never imagined. I have opened my heart to you, and I have thoroughly enjoyed the sacred moments that we have shared. However, I think like maybe we should slow things down.DSCN0236

I cannot deny that it was love at first sight. As you know, when a love is new, you want to spend all your time with your significant other. I still love you, but I’m feeling like you’re becoming a bit too attached.

IMG_6176 It was cute at first, when my skinny jeans couldn’t fit “my South African jeans (genes) couldn’t handle the Italian diet”. I giggled when I had to go up a dress size. I even laughed when I broke the zip off of another pair of pants. Things however, started getting serious when I stepped on the scale and I realized that there was an extra 7kgs that had snuck its way in.

IMG_6189 You have brought me great joy in my life, but now you are resulting in an expensive acquirement of a gym membership. This is not how I saw our relationship turning out. Yes, sure, “till death do us part” is how some people would like to see their partnerships going; but sometimes, it would be cool for you not to stick around for so long.

So, for the next few weeks, I suggest we go our separate ways (this includes you Nutella). I’ll stick to salads, veggies and protein, and you can find your way into someone else’s life. We can still see each other once in a while at Granny’s house, or when your Carbonara game is on point, but until I get my life back on track we’ll have to keep our distance.

This is one of the hardest letters I’ve had to write, but it had to be done.

Arrivederci mio amore

Abi’s Ass.

P.S I’m probably going to regret sharing those pictures with the internet, but laughing at myself is fun !<3

1560753_10202068596529822_1289293481_n

Leave a Reply

